top of page
  • Writer's pictureCorey Provencal

What is a Certified Microbial Remediation Supervisor CMRS?

The ACAC CMRS is your first step in becoming Licenced as a Mold Remediator in Florida by Grandfathering.

A Council-certified Microbial Remediation Supervisor (CMRS) conducts mold remediation and mold removal projects in the indoor environment. A CMRS can design and maintain effective containments. A CMRS can control pressure relationships during a project. A CMRS can safely clean, treat or remove structures and contents affected by microbial contamination. A CMRS can design remediation protocols or follow established protocols and industry standards.

A CMRS has verified knowledge of the microbial remediation field. The CMRS examination covers the most respected reference texts in the industry. Candidates for the CMRS must know the important industry standards. They must be familiar with scientific principles governing mold and the indoor environment. They must understand the most common practices and protocols used by remediators. They must be familiar with the equipment used in mold remediation. They must be aware of legal issues affecting their work

Each CMRS has demonstrated at least five (5) years experience in mold remediation and mold removal in one or more of the following settings:

•Offices and commercial buildings

•Industrial structures

•Government facilities

•Schools and public buildings

•Healthcare facilities

•Residential structures

To earn the Council-certified Microbial Remediation Supervisor designation, every candidate must:

•Demonstrate at least five (5) years of verifiable field experience in microbial remediation

•Pass a rigorous examination based on broad industry knowledge rather than a course curriculum

•Earn the unanimous approval of the CMRS certification board

•Re-certify every two years

•Participate in 20 hours of professional development activities each year

•Maintain the highest ethical standards

The CMRS certification is accredited by the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB), a nationally recognized independent accreditation body. ACAC certifications are the ONLY designations in the indoor air quality field to earn CESB accreditation.

•John P. Lapotaire, CIEC •Certified Indoor Environmental Consultant •Microshield Environmental Services, LLC

0 views0 comments


bottom of page