top of page
  • Writer's pictureCorey Provencal

Grandfathering Under the Florida Mold Law

Florida’s mold-related services law, which went into effect on July 1, 2010, requires that all mold assessors and mold remediators obtain a license to work in the state.

Individuals currently practicing mold assessment and remediation will be pleased to learn that the state law includes a “grandfather” clause allowing applicants to qualify for the license until March 1, 2011.

Florida will accept “grandfather” applications from two types of people:

1. Individuals who are certified as mold assessors or mold remediators by state or national associations that require a proctored examination in mold assessment or mold remediation. These grandfather applicants must also submit proof of completion of at least 60 hours of education in mold assessment or at least 30 hours of education in mold remediation.

2. Individuals who can demonstrate at least three years of field experience in mold assessment or mold remediation. As proof of field experience, these grandfather applicants must submit 40 invoices for mold assessment or mold remediation services.

Individuals who do not meet either of these criteria for grandfathering may obtain a license by taking one of six ACAC certification exams and completing Florida’s initial license application.

John P. Lapotaire, CIEC Certified Indoor Environmental Consultant Microshield Environmental Services, LLC

0 views0 comments


bottom of page